Contact Us Contact Us
Education News

UKM To Have Joint Programmes With Romanian University

May 14, 2013 | Campus News

ALBA IULA, ROMANIA, 13 May 2013 – The National University of Malaysia (UKM) and the “1 Decembrie” University of Alba Iulia (UAB) of Romania have agreed to explore various collaborative efforts including joint conferences, joint researches and supervisions, joint publications, academic staff exchanges and short summer courses.

A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was signed here today by UKM Vice Chancellor, Prof Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Dr Sharifah Hapsah Syed Hasan Shahabudin and UAB’s Rector Prof Valer Daniel Breaz to carry out such joint programmes.

The MoU requires both parties to enforce protection of intellectual property rights under the respective national laws, rules and regulations while it also allows for other forms of cooperation which can be negotiated .

Dean of UKM’s Faculty of Science and Technology, Prof Dr Shahrim Ahmad and UAB Director of Centre for International Relations, Senior Lecturer Teodora Popescu witnessed the signing.

Prof Breazin said his university welcomes UKM’s participation in the exchange programmes recommending UAB’s “Erasmus Mundus Action” programme, which is the European Union’s “Lifelong Learning” project funded by the European Commission.

The Erasmus Mundus is a student exchange programme in which UAB receives international students from universities which it has bilateral agreements. Foreign students can take part in courses at UAB under the programme for a period of between 3 to 10 months, depending on the curriculum. Conversely, UAB also sends its students to the participating universities worldwide.

Courses offered to foreign students under the Erasmus Mundus programmes include History, Languages and Literature, Business Administration, Accounting, Informatics, Electrical Engineering, Environmental Engineering and Law. Most of the universities participating in the programme are European.

UAB is a state institution, integrated into the national higher education system which functions based on the Romanian Constitution, the Law of Education, the University Charter and its own regulations.

The university is named after the day when the Union of Transylvania with Romania was declared on December 1, 1918. It is celebrated in Romania as Great Union Day. Its Latin name, Universitas Apulensis, refers to the historical region known as Apulensis within Roman Dacia where the University is located.

The university has four main faculties, each divided into several departments. They are History and Philology; Law and Social Sciences;  Orthodox Theology; and Sciences.

The fields of archaeology, history are the main fields that the university was founded on. At present, there are three majors in this department, Archaeology, History, and Museum Science.

Back to News Page